Thursday, October 7, 2010

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2010

At the announcement of the Nobel Prize on 7 October 2010, Professor Peter Englund, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy, says that the Nobel Prize in Literature 2010 is awarded to the Peruvian author Mario Vargas Llosa ..

Jorge Mario Pedro Vargas Llosa was born on March 28, 1936. He is a Peruvian writer, politician, journalist, essayist . Vargas Llosa is one of Latin America's most significant novelists and essayists, and one of the leading authors of his generation. Some critics consider him to have had a larger international impact and worldwide audience than any other writer of the Latin American Boom.

He was awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat".

Congratulation !
(DS. Utomo)

Related artcle:
- The Nobel Prize in Literature 2010-Press Release


H. Nizam said...

An interesting man, pak. Looks like he deserved the award. Congrats!

DS. Utomo said...

Tq for your comment, Mas !